Details and Rules

  • Divisional games start at 9am sharp.
  • Each division plays a round robin format, World cup style points – 3 points for a win, 1 point for a tie, 0 points for a loss.
  • The top 2 teams from each division advance to the playoffs.
  • If for any reason a team cannot compete in the playoffs, their position will be filled by the next highest seed in their division. •Divisional games will be 3 innings.
  • Elite Eight games will be 4 innings.
  • Final Four games will be 5 innings.
  • Championship game will be 7 innings
  • 10 players on the field at any one time – only these 10 bat.
  • If a team can only field 9 players then the game will be played 9 on 9.
  • Open substitutions allowed throughout the game.
  • Count starts at 1 ball, 1 strike.
  • Foul ball hit with 2 strikes is an automatic out.
  • Courtesy runners allowed.
  • No leading, stealing, or bunting allowed.
  • Slow-pitch (underhand motion and arc between 6 and 12 feet in height).
  • 10 run mercy rule in effect for semifinal games after complete 4 innings.
  • The championship game will be played to completion regardless of score (no 10 run rule).
  • One official umpire per field, except the championship game which will have 2 umpires.

Eligible players – Attendings, faculty, fellows, residents, and interns (MDs and/or PhDs) from the Department of Neurosurgery.

Teams violating this rule will be immediately disqualified.