2011 Champions

Twenty-four teams of neurosurgeons from top medical institutions competed June 4th in Central Park at the 8th Annual Neurosurgery Charity Softball Tournament (www.neurocharitysoftball.org).

Endorsed by the American Association of Neurological Surgeons and hosted by Columbia University, the event benefited brain tumor research via the Neurosurgery Research and Education Foundation of the AANS. This year’s competing Departments of Neurosurgery included Alabama, Albert Einstein, Barrow Neurological Institute, Colorado, Cornell / Memorial Sloan-Kettering, Dartmouth, Duke, Emory, Florida, Harvard, Hopkins, Miami, Mount Sinai, Northwestern, NYU, Penn, Penn State, Pittsburgh, Jefferson, Toronto, and Utah.

The playoff field included Cornell/MSK and Columbia from the New York division; Alabama and Emory from the South division, Barrow and Pittsburgh from the West division, and Penn and Harvard from the East division.

The Final Four teams were Emory, Alabama, Barrow, and Penn.

The Barrow claimed their second consecutive championship by beating Alabama in the finals. The championship trophy, named “The J. Lawrence Pool Memorial Trophy” in honor of the former Columbia chairman, will be housed in Phoenix for another year.